Thread: Need to gain weight taking protein

Newbie Brother
    Supplement Reviews
    Read All Reviews
    Source Reviews
    Read All Reviews

Need to gain weight taking protein

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to workouts, but have had lots of tips from family/friends who are really into it and are pretty huge... I have a couple quick questions about protein supplements:

1. Is it true that small spikes in protein (eg. taking "half" a protein shake) doesn't help at all? I read that you need big spikes for it to have an effect, but there was no source where I read that, so I wasn't sure to believe it or not...

2. If you don't train everyday, is it necessary to take shakes on your off days? Or is eating good enough?

If it helps, I'm 6'1 and 130 lbs (yes, that's right... but I eat like crazy!) and workout 3 times a week. Thanks for the help!

Supplement Reviews
    Read All Reviews
    Source Reviews
    Read All Reviews
    Protein powders aren't really a great solution in my opinion. You definitely need to get more clean whole foods in you. I would start by carefully tracking everything you eat now with an app like myfitnesspal to figure out your current baseline, and then increase and track until you start gaining.

Supplement Reviews
    Read All Reviews
    Source Reviews
    Read All Reviews
    I wouldn't even bother worrying about eating "clean".... clean doesn't refer to healthy, it simply means keeping calories in check to gain the least amount of fat. At 6'1 130, I'd suggest you throw that idea out the window, and just eat any and everything... imho you gotta a good 50+ lbs you need to gain. Carbs and fats are going to be your best friends in doing so. Pizza, pasta, cheeseburgers...

For $10 a costco large pizza has over 4400 calories in it (400+ carbs, 220g protein, and almost 200g fats). Perhaps try eating a half a pizza throughout the day a 3-4 days a week in addition to your normal diet. That's only $15-$20/wk for a ton of additional calories.